SARP Katowice
The Young Talent Architecture Award
(YTAA) launches its second edition:
Schools registration is now open.

- YTAA 2018 will grant more awards: 4 Winners among
12 Finalists;
- Schools can start selecting Graduation projects
presented by students between August 1st, 2016 and
December 31st, 2017;
- To stimulate the competitiveness and quality of
European architecture education, schools from two guest
countries will be invited to participate in YTAA 2018: China
and South Korea.
The Young Talent Architecture Award (YTAA) launches its second edition supporting the talent of recently graduated Architects, Urban Planners and Landscape Architects.
YTAA is organized by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of Creative Europe as an extension of the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award, and World-
Architects as Founding Partner.
By bringing together the most talented graduated architects and some of the best architecture firms and institutions in Europe, the Winners of the YTAA will have the opportunity to develop comprehensive strategies enhancing synergies and complementarities with the firms and institutions of their

The first edition of the award in 2016 had a very successful participation with 211 architecture, urban and landscape graduation projects submitted by 268 students from over 100 Schools and 86 European cities.
YTAA 2018 wants to open up its scope and generate a stronger debate by increasing its geographical span and the number of finalists and winners. This second edition entails the consolidation of the Award, higher
participation is therefore expected. YTAA will reflect the reality and complexity of education throughout its
process. This is why the number of designs that each school can nominate is in accordance with its total number of enrolled students. “YTAA seeks to become a privileged observatory of architectural education,
so the proposed works are not limited by scale or programme. The Jury selection for each biennial edition represents an extensive overview of quality architectural design but the common denominator remains the contribution that these designs make to the built environment” explains Michel Magnier, Director for Culture and Creativity at the European Commission.
A group of shortlisted works will be selected in order to illustrate different ways of working, designing and communicating. Four winners, one more than the first edition, will be chosen by an international Jury from a list of twelve finalists.
All nominated designs will be published online and will become part of the YTAA Archive as a recognition to their authors and the Schools. The four Winners will be supported in the creation of a network with the architects and
critics involved in the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award and the Future Architecture Platform. They will also receive 5.000€ each, a profile in World Architects and furniture from
The results of YTAA 2018 will be presented in a traveling exhibition that will start its journey in Venice, at the 2018 Architecture Biennale.
YTAA benefits from the partnership of the Architects’ Council of Europe (ACE) and The European Association for Architectural Education (EAAE) and the local partner in Venice is The European Cultural Centre (ECC). The organization of YTAA 2018 counts with the participation of Jung and Jansen and the support of USM.

YTAA Calendar 2018
November Open call for school’s registrations
February Deadline for school’s submissions
March Jury announcement
Deadline for student’s submissions
April Shortlist announcement
May Finalists announcement
Exhibition Opening at Architecture Biennale 2018, Venice
June Winners announcement
September Award ceremony at Architecture Biennale 2018, Venice
More information here:
Press contact: Miriam Giordano - Silvia Pujalte / Labóh
+34 933 192 664 / +34 600 591 929